Expressions of Interest for Independent Artists & Producers wishing to attend is now closed. Assessment is underway and successful applicants will be notified shortly. 

Committed to prioritising independent artists and small to medium companies, TNA exclusively reserves a number of delegate places for Independent Artists and Producers to share a seat at the table at every Australian Theatre Forum (ATF). 

We are seeking Expressions of Interest from Independent Artists and Producers to attend ATF 2017 at the heavily subsidised rate of $121 (GST incl).

EOIs are assessed by peer panels from each state and territory – with a focus on ensuring representation of Aboriginal &/ Torres Strait Islander practitioners, those from Culturally and Linguistically Diverse backgrounds, people with disabilities, and professionals across spectrums of age, gender identity and sexual orientation.

Curators Alexis West and Steve Mayhew are looking forward to having independent artists facilitate, lead and contribute to the conversations we are gathering for the forum.  We are interested in artists who have experience in and are willing to talk about leadership, gender, class, spirituality, emerging pathways, women, decolonisation, organisational structures, funding structures, economic values, cultural values, speculative futures with in the nations theatre sector.

We are really excited to be including your voices and thoughts and we hope to see you in October.


Theatre Network Australia is working with all of the state and territory funding agencies to ensure that there is some travel support for marginalised independents. We are confident that Arts Queensland, Creative Victoria and Create NSW will provide funding support through TNA, and we are confident that DCA WA, Arts NT, Arts Tas and Arts ACT will provide some funding directly to independents, either through existing professional development programs, or ATF specific grants. And of course Arts South Australia is one of our major funding partners for the whole forum. Please watch this space and contact us (or your local agency) if you would like more details.



Dan Koop, Melbourne Fringe
Jamie Lewis, Theatre Network Australia
Erica McCalman, Next Wave
Kate Sulan, Rawcus Theatre

Australian Capital Territory
Caroline Stacey, The Street Theatre
Karla Conway, Canberra Theatre Centre

New South Wales
Fraser Corfield, Australian Theatre for Young People
Joanne Kee, National Theatre of Parramatta
Jeff Khan, Performance Space
Jane Kreis, Theatre Network NSW
Ali Murphy-Oates, Moogahlin Performing Arts Inc

Annette Downs, Tasmania Performs
Sam Routledge, Terrapin Puppet Theatre

Louise Bezzina, Bleach* Festival
Merindah Donnelly, BlakDance
Jo Thomas, Metro Arts
Deb Wilks, Cluster Arts

Northern Territory
Britt Guy, Creative Accomplice
Sean Pardy, Browns Mart

Western Australia
Guy Boyce, Mandurah Performing Arts Centre
Peter Kift, Yirra Yaakin
Fiona De Garis, Performing Lines WA

South Australia
Jon Halpin, Carclew Youth Arts

Michelle Ryan, Restless Dance Company
Emma Webb, Vitalstatistix
Alirio Zavarce, No Strings Attached